All student personnel records are to be treated as confidential and primarily for local school use or as otherwise stipulated. Where such records or data include information on more than one student, the parents of any student shall be entitled to receive, or to be informed of, that part of such record of data as pertains to their child. Each school shall establish appropriate procedures for the granting of a request by parents for access to their child’s school records within a reasonable period of time, but in no case more than 15 school days after the request has been made.
In situations where the parents of a student are divorced or separated, each parent, custodial and/or noncustodial, has equal rights to their student’s records unless a court order specifies otherwise. Private agreements between the student’s parents shall not be recognized by the district’s personnel.
Parents shall have an opportunity for a hearing to challenge the content of their child’s school records to ensure that the records are not inaccurate, misleading or otherwise in violation of the privacy or other rights of students; to provide an opportunity for the correction or deletion of any such inaccurate, misleading or otherwise inappropriate data contained therein; and to insert into such records the parent’s written explanation of the content of such records.
Any eligible parent/guardian or student may inspect the personal records of the student during regular school office hours on site. The district reserves the right to interpret selected records to students and/or parents/guardians at the time of the inspection.
For the purpose of this policy, whenever a student attains 18 years of age, the permission or consent required of and the rights accorded to the parents of the student shall thereafter only be required of and accorded to the student.
The parents of students, or the students if they are 18 years of age or older, must be informed annually by the superintendent of the rights accorded them by this section. In addition, the public must be informed annually by the superintendent of the categories of information the institution has determined to be directory information.
The transfer of student records in Michigan is governed by Revised School Code Section 1135 (MCL 380.1135) which requires that within 14 days after enrolling a transfer student, the public or private elementary school or secondary school shall request in writing directly from the student’s previous school a copy of his or her school record. In the view of the Michigan Department of Education, the “school record” referred to in section 1135 includes a student’s disciplinary record, including any suspension or expulsion action against the student. Any school that compiles records for each student in the school and that is requested to forward a copy of a transferring student’s record to the new school shall comply within 30 days after receipt of the request unless the record has been tagged pursuant to section 1134 (which deals with records of missing students).
When the district has been notified by local law enforcement officials that a student has been reported missing, the building principal shall so note on that student’s permanent records and notify the law enforcement officials if a report has been received for that student’s records.
LEGAL REF: MCL, 15.231 et seq.; 600.2165; Family Rights and Privacy Act of 1974;